The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Aug 05, 2012, 08:25am
Official Forum Member

60-foot diamond positioning question

I'm working the bases tomorrow night for a U11 summer playoff game, and I've never done the bases on a small diamond before. Where do I stand when I'm in B or C? On the infield grass like I would on a 90-foot diamond? Or behind the infielders because it gets too "crowded" otherwise?

This town usually just uses 1 umpire behind the plate for 60-foot diamond games, but I did work one game with 2 umpires in which I had the plate. The BU was positioning himself in the outfield in B and C, and it seemed like he was miles away on any call at first. Especially from C.
Old Sun Aug 05, 2012, 08:31am
Official Forum Member

xtreamump

You are correct 60 ft. you work outside. On a hit to the outfield you get inside to see touches, and to get a good angle, on close plays. You need help at third sometimes, alot of talking with your partner. It will be fun.
Old Sun Aug 05, 2012, 11:47am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by nafxos View Post
I'm working the bases tomorrow night for a U11 summer playoff game, and I've never done the bases on a small diamond before. Where do I stand when I'm in B or C? On the infield grass like I would on a 90-foot diamond? Or behind the infielders because it gets too "crowded" otherwise?

This town usually just uses 1 umpire behind the plate for 60-foot diamond games, but I did work one game with 2 umpires in which I had the plate. The BU was positioning himself in the outfield in B and C, and it seemed like he was miles away on any call at first. Especially from C.