The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Does run count (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91310-does-run-count.html)

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 26, 2012 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3ump (Post 843532)
...guys do we debate baseball or what....some seem to be going after each other, in fun I hope.

Nah, this the #1 sniping umpire forum on the Net. Didn't you get the memo? :p

Matt Sat May 26, 2012 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 843555)
Nah, this the #1 sniping umpire forum on the Net. Didn't you get the memo? :p

I don't think there was a memo--just a clause in the will of McGriff's.

thumpferee Sun May 27, 2012 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GROUPthink (Post 843314)
It may not seem so, but I've been here since 2000. I'm not a fan of Rich's posts when he acts like umpires are a necessary evil, but there's no reason we need to stoop to his level, either.

I have worked a lot of Little League as well as a lot of HS and college baseball. There's no need to disparage any particular level.

Agree!

3ump Mon Jun 04, 2012 06:57pm

where does runner belong
 
VFW ball major league rules: Runner on first ball hit to centerfield, fielder makes good catch at shoe tops and comes up throwing to get runner before return to first . Ball goes out of play and runner (a) touches back on first or (b) seeing ball go out of play goes onto third.

Second part of question: If scenario (b) once ball is put back in play can defense appeal that runner never tug up before advancing and would appeal be upheld.

waltjp Mon Jun 04, 2012 07:19pm

Yes, the defense can appeal the runner leaving too soon when the ball is put back in play.

celebur Wed Jun 06, 2012 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3ump
where does runner belong

VFW ball major league rules: Runner on first ball hit to centerfield, fielder makes good catch at shoe tops and comes up throwing to get runner before return to first . Ball goes out of play and runner (a) touches back on first or (b) seeing ball go out of play goes onto third.

Second part of question: If scenario (b) once ball is put back in play can defense appeal that runner never tug up before advancing and would appeal be upheld.

In both (a) and (b), the runner is awarded 3B; the award is based on the runner's position at the time of the throw and thus doesn't matter whether he was advancing or returning and whether or not he completed the retouch. But the runner must still properly retouch 1B or be in jeopardy of an appeal for leaving early on the caught fly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1