The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   what would you call? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91118-what-would-you-call.html)

Steven Tyler Fri May 11, 2012 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 841310)
To those advocating for a balk here: the OP does not state that F2 left the box before F1 released the pitch.

Without more info in support of the balk, it sounds like garden-variety catcher INT/OBS to me.

Balk=Immediate dead ball in FED. No play takes place.

MD Longhorn Fri May 11, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler (Post 841317)
If you have a balk the ball becomes immediately dead is the reason you can't have obstruction in FED. The play didn't happen. The batter doesn't go to first, all runners advance one base. Simple as that.

Good point.

umpjim Fri May 11, 2012 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 841310)
To those advocating for a balk here: the OP does not state that F2 left the box before F1 released the pitch.

Without more info in support of the balk, it sounds like garden-variety catcher INT/OBS to me.

It's not release of pitch; it's time of pitch 1-1-3.

Hard to believe that the catcher was out front before or as the pitcher started his delivery from either the set or windup.

thumpferee Fri May 11, 2012 12:57pm

Out of curiosity, did the batter attempt to hit the ball?

Are we gonna get an official interp? :confused:

I'm going to the archives. I know there was a debate over this years ago.

thumpferee Fri May 11, 2012 01:13pm

Found this
 
I think the J/R gives a pretty good description.



It is defensive (or catcher's) interference if:

1 The batter or his bat contacts the catcher during a swing or bunt at a pitch.

a) e.g. one out, hit and run. The batter swings at a curve ball and strikes the mitt of a catcher who is not crouched and preparing to throw.

b) e.g. a batter swings belatedly on a fastball and smacks the mitt of a crouched catcher.

2. The catcher is on or forward of the tip of home plate (or "on fair territory") to get the pitch and prevents the batter's opportunity to swing at or bunt such pitch.

Examples:

a. In the windup position, the pitcher begins his motion to pitch and R3 steals. The catcher springs from his crouch onto fair territory and catches the pitch as the batter strides, but does not swing.

b. R3, suicide squeeze. The catcher catches the pitch forward of home plate while the batter maintains his position, partially squared to bunt.


However, it is not defensive (or catcher's) interference if the batter:

1. Steps outside the batter's box and he or his bat strikes the catcher.

2. Throws his bat at, and strikes, the catcher.

3. Uses his bat to intentionally strike the catcher on foul territory (tries to hit the catcher versus the pitch).

4. Swings, but does not strike the catcher, who is on foul territory.

5. Completely gives up his opportunity to swing or bunt at a pitch.

6. Accidentally strikes the catcher with his bat during a practice swing while the pitcher prepares to pitch.

Penalizing Defensive (Catcher's) Interference

Once there is defensive interference, the ball is not dead. All continuous action is allowed to occur. If every runner and the Batter-Runner acquires his advance base during continuous action, the interference is disregarded. When continuous action ends, and the umpire determines that a runner or Batter-Runner has not acquired his advance base, the ball becomes dead, and the interference is then enforced as follows:

a. The Batter-Runner is awarded first base.

b. All sequential runners are awarded their advance base.

c. Any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded his advance base.

d. Runners who are not sequential and were not stealing must return to their TOP base.

However, the offensive manager has the option to accept the result of the continuous action rather than have the interference enforced, Such manager must indicate to the umpire his choice of the result of continuous action; the umpire does not offer such an option.


Tim.

umpjim Fri May 11, 2012 04:54pm

"d. Runners who are not sequential and were not stealing must return to their TOP base."

Unless the CI was during a squeeze or steal of home where 7.07 (OBR) occurs.

I would say let's not mix FED and OBR in this discussion but I just did.

BretMan Fri May 11, 2012 05:32pm

FED Case Play:

8.3.1 SITUATION B

R1 is on third and R2 is on second. R1 breaks from third in an attempted suicide squeeze play. As B3 attempts to bunt, F2 touches tip of bat or steps across home plate, catches the ball and tags R1. R2 remains on second.

RULING: Catcher obstruction. The umpire awards B3 first base and R1 home. Since R2 was not attempting to steal or was forced, he remains on second.

mbyron Fri May 11, 2012 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 841368)
It's not release of pitch; it's time of pitch 1-1-3

You mean 1-1-4.

I was thinking of OBR for some reason. 4.03a

umpjim Fri May 11, 2012 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 841447)
You mean 1-1-4.

I was thinking of OBR for some reason. 4.03a

Yes, I was trying to type 1-1-4 but typed 1-1-3 for some reason. Thank you.

Hopefully, Bretman's caseplay will put an end to this thread. Thank you too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1