The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2012, 11:40pm
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
Charge a Conference?

Today, after the batter walks, catcher calls time.
AC takes a few steps out of the dugout and tells the catcher some code words for the defense. "Now go tell them", he says.
Catcher then goes to the mound and is joined by the infielders to confer for about 15 seconds.

Would you charge this as a defensive conference? I didn't but it got me to wonder.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2012, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
No
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".

Last edited by thumpferee; Wed May 09, 2012 at 11:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
By definition, yes.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
If he yelled from the dugout instead of taking a step out would you charge a conference?

He's just giving signs verbally. He's not delaying because F2 already is at the mound and that in itself isn't a cionference.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
If he yelled from the dugout instead of taking a step out would you charge a conference?
No

Quote:
He's just giving signs verbally. He's not delaying because F2 already is at the mound and that in itself isn't a cionference.
It is specifically stated that if the manager speaks with a player, and that player then speaks with the pitcher, it's a visit.

OBR, at least.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post

It is specifically stated that if the manager speaks with a player, and that player then speaks with the pitcher, it's a visit.

OBR, at least.
You mean this:

Rule 8.06 Comment: If the manager or coach goes to the catcher or infielder and that player then goes to the mound or the pitcher comes to him at his position before there is an intervening play (a pitch or other play) that will be the same as the manager or coach going to the mound.
Any attempt to evade or circumvent this rule by the manager or coach going to the catcher or an infielder and then that player going to the mound to confer with the pitcher shall constitute a trip to the mound.


It's not just speaking. There needs to be traveling. There was no "going to" by the manager and the players were already on the mound. The conditions were not met. Not a conference/visit.

If you adhered to your "speaks to" thought you'd charge a visit every time the manager or coach yelled something to the players from the bench. Not gonna happen.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Thu May 10, 2012 at 10:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No

It is specifically stated that if the manager speaks with a player, and that player then speaks with the pitcher, it's a visit.

OBR, at least.
So anytime a manager/coach yells from the dugout, by rule/definition, you are going to charge a conference? Wow, that will game will almost be as quiet as when I used to do California School for the Deaf games.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
Today, after the batter walks, catcher calls time.
AC takes a few steps out of the dugout and tells the catcher some code words for the defense. "Now go tell them", he says.
Catcher then goes to the mound and is joined by the infielders to confer for about 15 seconds.

Would you charge this as a defensive conference? I didn't but it got me to wonder.
Not much different than the 3rd base coach sending signals to the batter.

If the coach and F2 met, then F2 went to the mound, then this would be charged.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Where does the OP say that he shouted from the dugout? OP says TELLS, which to me, implied some sort of private conversation. Obviously, if he's yelling things out that the defense can hear, it's not a conference, and I was not replying to that situation. (In fact, when Rich asked if I'd consider it a conference if the coach yelled, I would not consider it a conference).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike

Last edited by MD Longhorn; Thu May 10, 2012 at 11:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Where does the OP say that he shouted from the dugout? OP says TELLS, which to me, implied some sort of private conversation. Obviously, if he's yelling things out that the defense can hear, it's not a conference, and I was not replying to that situation. (In fact, when Rich asked if I'd consider it a conference if the coach yelled, I would not consider it a conference).
"Tells" isn't the requirement. "Goes to" is the requirement.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2012, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
"Tells" isn't the requirement. "Goes to" is the requirement.
What do you have if the Coach calls F2 or any other player over to the dugout, never calls time or leaves the dugout. Can the player be committing the "Goes to"?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2012, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
The way I always saw it, is if the coach has a direct conversation with a player and then that player attempts to go to the mound, I'll stop him and let the coach know he's going to be charged a conference when his player gets there.

Same thing when a pitcher is hurt. That's why we attend the conference to make sure he's not taking advantage.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Where does the OP say that he shouted from the dugout? OP says TELLS, which to me, implied some sort of private conversation. Obviously, if he's yelling things out that the defense can hear, it's not a conference, and I was not replying to that situation. (In fact, when Rich asked if I'd consider it a conference if the coach yelled, I would not consider it a conference).
I see where the confusion lies. I took it as though the coach just stepped out of the dugout and yelled vs came out of the dugout and conferred with the catcher. The OP was a little vague, but from the other responses we took it differently than you.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2012, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I see where the confusion lies. I took it as though the coach just stepped out of the dugout and yelled vs came out of the dugout and conferred with the catcher. The OP was a little vague, but from the other responses we took it differently than you.
I agree.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conference Officials? PaREF Basketball 14 Sat Feb 14, 2009 07:31am
when does a conference begin ? Chess Ref Softball 7 Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:31am
SICA Conference JRutledge Basketball 15 Tue Apr 18, 2006 02:05pm
Charge a conference? largeone59 Baseball 3 Sat May 07, 2005 01:58pm
Charged Conference? 5 sport ref Softball 18 Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1