The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to aceholleran
#3

#3 The batter cannot be called out for interference if he/she is in the batter’s box. FALSE. If the batter has reasonable time to vacate the batter’s box, he/she must do so or risk interference being called.

I think the explanation is a little cloudy. In a sitch where R3 is stealing home, B1 MUST NOT interfere with the play. I have never seen any rule that mentions "reasonable time."

Ace in CT
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 10:04pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Is this list MECE? Looks pretty complete to me.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
#36 The home plate umpire can overrule the other umpires at anytime. FALSE. No umpire (including the home plate umpire or umpire-in-chief) has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by another umpire within the limits of the respective duties as outlined in the rules. An umpire may request help from another umpire in a decision, but ultimately it is the requesting umpire who will make the final decision.

Unless the home plate umpire is the UIC for the game, a protest is lodged, and the crew can not agree on a ruling. THEN the UIC can make the ruling, and in effect, overrule the others.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt View Post
#36 The home plate umpire can overrule the other umpires at anytime. FALSE. No umpire (including the home plate umpire or umpire-in-chief) has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by another umpire within the limits of the respective duties as outlined in the rules. An umpire may request help from another umpire in a decision, but ultimately it is the requesting umpire who will make the final decision.

Unless the home plate umpire is the UIC for the game, a protest is lodged, and the crew can not agree on a ruling. THEN the UIC can make the ruling, and in effect, overrule the others.
Your are likely correct with games at the pro level or maybe in other states. Around here at the amateur level, the only protests allowed are rule violations. Myth #36 is meant to correct those who believe the plate umpire has final decision on all calls and can overrule a field umpire without being asked for his opinion on the play. I think this part:

"...as outlined by the rules..."

...has me covered on this one.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."

Last edited by TwoBits; Tue May 15, 2012 at 11:17am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt View Post
#36 The home plate umpire can overrule the other umpires at anytime. FALSE. No umpire (including the home plate umpire or umpire-in-chief) has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by another umpire within the limits of the respective duties as outlined in the rules. An umpire may request help from another umpire in a decision, but ultimately it is the requesting umpire who will make the final decision.

Unless the home plate umpire is the UIC for the game, a protest is lodged, and the crew can not agree on a ruling. THEN the UIC can make the ruling, and in effect, overrule the others.
Your are likely correct with games at the pro level or maybe in other states. Around here at the amateur level, the only protests allowed are rule violations. Myth #36 is meant to correct those who believe the plate umpire has final decision on all calls and can overrule a field umpire without being asked for his opinion on the play.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
I would like to clarify: the "1+1" rule isn't a MYTH its a way to describe the rule to people in an easy way. Because for most to all of the times the ball goes out of play, you are giving them the base they're going to and the next one (1+1).

Its more a "description of thumb" than a myth.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 02:28pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by teccan9nja View Post
I would like to clarify: the "1+1" rule isn't a MYTH its a way to describe the rule to people in an easy way. Because for most to all of the times the ball goes out of play, you are giving them the base they're going to and the next one (1+1).

Its more a "description of thumb" than a myth.
It's a myth which brings coaches out of the dugout on plays like this:

PLAY: R1, 1 out. Line drive to F6. R1 is trying to return to first to avoid being doubled up, F6's throw ends up over the fence. Place the runner.

An umpire using 1+1 either doesn't understand the rules or is perpetuating the notion of 1+1 with coaches, neither of which is good.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by GROUPthink View Post
It's a myth which brings coaches out of the dugout on plays like this:

PLAY: R1, 1 out. Line drive to F6. R1 is trying to return to first to avoid being doubled up, F6's throw ends up over the fence. Place the runner.

An umpire using 1+1 either doesn't understand the rules or is perpetuating the notion of 1+1 with coaches, neither of which is good.
Yes. But it still does tell people what the rule does pretty well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandiegosteve View Post
is this list mece? Looks pretty complete to me.
mece?
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran View Post
#3 The batter cannot be called out for interference if he/she is in the batter’s box. FALSE. If the batter has reasonable time to vacate the batter’s box, he/she must do so or risk interference being called.

I think the explanation is a little cloudy. In a sitch where R3 is stealing home, B1 MUST NOT interfere with the play. I have never seen any rule that mentions "reasonable time."

Ace in CT
Good point. The actual wording in the FED book is reasonable "effort". Regardless, it will be a judgment call.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2011 Edition TwoBits Softball 22 Sun Apr 24, 2011 03:28pm
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2011 Edition TwoBits Baseball 26 Tue Apr 05, 2011 01:18am
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition TwoBits Softball 11 Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:14am
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition TwoBits Baseball 11 Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1