The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 11:27am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Coach&Blue
I am a manager of a team. We play Major (American) League Rules. My hitter had a 2 - 2 count with 2 outs and runners on 1st & 3rd. By batter hits a line drive to LF for a base hit. My better, on his back swing, dropped the bat and hit the plate umpires leg. He yells "Dead ball, Batter is out for hitting me with the bat." He stated to me that he has a personal rule that if he gets hit with the bat he is out. I of course protest the game. Will I win this protest? I never heard of any rule where the umpire can call a batter out for getting hit with a bat or a rule where the umpire can use his own personal rules. There was no warning, and it wasn't on purpose. The bat didn't hit him hard or anything.
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member

How old?

How old are these kids? That could make a difference.
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member

Re: How old?

Quote:
Originally posted by CDcoach
How old are these kids? That could make a difference.
Better Question how old is the Umpire?
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Coach&Blue
This is an adult league, using major league rules. the umpire is also an adult.
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member

I would protest for sure
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member

Anything can happen

Quote:
Originally posted by Coach&Blue