The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
Amazingly, a Fed player moving from LBT toward DBT could actually cross the line by stepping over the line with one foot while the other is in the air (thus no part of his body in LBT), make the catch, and then reset a foot into LBT and continue to play with never being considered as leaving LBT. Since he was never in DBT with both feet, he was considered to be in LBT.
Not quite true, Steve.

To *make* a catch, part of the fielder must be in LBT, or the fielder must not have touched DBT (i.e., both feet in the air). If one foot is in DBT, nad the other is in the air, the fielder can't make a (legal) catch.

Once the catch is made, however, the fielder must enter DBT with both feet to be out of play. If he catches the ball in LBT, then steps into DBT with one foot (the other in the air), the player is still in LBT.

See 2.9.1 Comment
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1