The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2012, 08:39pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Does it behoove the B/R...?

I remember this topic about 10 years ago but I don't remember the consensus.

R2, R3, two outs. Ground ball to F5. R3 crosses home. F5 tags out R2. B/R discontinues to first. Can the defense appeal at first for a "fourth" out? In other words, does it behoove the offense for the B/R to continue to first after the third out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2012, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Appeal what?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2012, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post
I remember this topic about 10 years ago but I don't remember the consensus.

R2, R3, two outs. Ground ball to F5. R3 crosses home. F5 tags out R2. B/R discontinues to first. Can the defense appeal at first for a "fourth" out? In other words, does it behoove the offense for the B/R to continue to first after the third out?
No, but it behooves the defense to throw the B/R out at 1st instead of tagging R2.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2012, 09:56pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
No, but it behooves the defense to throw the B/R out at 1st instead of tagging R2.
Yes, but what I am asking is if the defense is entitled to, and would it be upheld if *after* tagging R2, appealed that the B/R never touched first base.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2012, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post
Yes, but what I am asking is if the defense is entitled to, and would it be upheld if *after* tagging R2, appealed that the B/R never touched first base.
I don't think so. It's not a missed base. But it's an interesting question.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
I don't think so. It's not a missed base. But it's an interesting question.
Certainly not a missed base. You have to advance past a base to miss it. Wouldn't this actually be abandonment.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Certainly not a missed base. You have to advance past a base to miss it. Wouldn't this actually be abandonment.
You have to reach first before you can abandon.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post
Yes, but what I am asking is if the defense is entitled to, and would it be upheld if *after* tagging R2, appealed that the B/R never touched first base.
There is such a thing as a fourth out appeal, but I do not believe it applies here... you can't rule this a missed base - BR didn't miss it - he never got there. The 4th out appeal is just that - an appeal. Throwing the runner out at 1st is not an appeal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
There is such a thing as a fourth out appeal, but I do not believe it applies here... you can't rule this a missed base - BR didn't miss it - he never got there. The 4th out appeal is just that - an appeal. Throwing the runner out at 1st is not an appeal.
Exactly right. A 4th out appeal must be a proper appeal: a retouch or missed base appeal. The BR is under no obligation to touch 1B after the 3rd out has been recorded, so this is not a missed base. No appeal should be upheld here.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 08:16am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I believe J/R used to say this was a valid appeal. Per the BRD, it is in Fed. The official Wendelstedt interpretation is that it is not.

In Fed I'd likely not grant the appeal since the interpretation the BRD citation is based upon is rather obscure and defies logic.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2012, 09:40pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
His question has been answered affirmatively, you just don't seem to like the answer.

I'm sensing a new rising fast ball thread is in the works here.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2012, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Has the run scored? Date time opponents please.
According to OBR, yes it has scored:

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBR
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches firstbase; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2012, 09:46pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
I'm trying, Ringo.

Can someone clue me in if SAump is being serious?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
basis for fourth out

If a third out in an inning created a dead ball situation, there would be no fourth out situations. However since there are fourth out situatons, which are addressed in the baseball rules (7.10 (d), the ball is not dead, and subsequent plays may be made via appeal. This is a force out situation, and since appealed, and as we all know, no runs can be scored when a force out is the last out of an inning.

Last edited by professor; Tue Mar 20, 2012 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2012, 10:40am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by professor View Post
If a third out in an inning created a dead ball situation, there would be no fourth out situations. However since there are fourth out situatons, which are addressed in the baseball rules, the ball is not dead, and subsequent plays may be made via appeal. This is a force out situation, and since appealed, and as we all know, no runs can be scored when a force out is the last out of an inning.
The play on a batter/runner is never a force, by definition. Who's forcing him to run to first base?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1