The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2003, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Something to consider

Quote:
Originally posted by GoCamels
OBR, Babe Ruth 13-15 last night.

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Ground ball to F4, who attempts tag on R3. R3 goes beyond 3 feet to avoid tag, called out. R1 has crossed plate before attempted tag according to PU.

We ruled as force play still in effect, runs do not count.

Were we correct? Could not find in OBR, do not have access to case book.
I assume you meant F4 attempted tag on runner going from 1B to 2B---not R3.

Something you need to consider on this play is that R1 may have needed to veer from the basepath before the tag attempt to assure he was not going to have contact with F4. If that occurred, his basepath is from his location at the time F4 plays upon him, and that may not be the direct path from 1B to 2B.

R1 is restricted to HIS basepath after being played upon, not that of the field. Give him consideration in his need to avoid the fielder fielding a batted ball. That understanding may be the difference between a correct judgment and an incorrect judgment. Too many umpires in this situation only consider the direct path from 1B to 2B and don't concentrate on the entire happenings of the play around them.


Just my opinion,

Freix



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1