![]() |
|
|
|||
Sure there is. On this ground ball play, the runner will be almost always running through the base, not looking to go to second. On a wide throw (as opposed to an inside throw), the fielder may be taken into a place where his momentum causes a collison with B/R after he has gained the base safely. The latter was not impeded on a ball that is caught. As has been suggested, if the throw had sailed high and wide (or skipped by), and the runner would have likely had an opportunity to advance, you could have OBS.
I once had a play involving just such a throw. The right handed first baseman lunged towards right for the throw from third and caught it just above his shoulders. He windmilled his arm backwards and caught the B/R squarely in the face a half step past the bag. B/R went down in a heap, covered in blood from a broken nose. After the player was removed, his HC wanted to know if his new base runner was going to get 2nd. He did not since there was no OBS. The HC smiled, knowing that he had tried, as he walked away. |
|
|||
Quote:
When running through the base you look to the right to see if the ball got past F3 or to pick up a "go" from the 1B coach.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
On this particular play, the collision will undoubtedly take place almost immediately after the the base has been touched - we are talking a half step, step or two at most. I have never seen a B/R make a step towards second on such a play. On routine ground balls to the infield the runner is almost always hightailing it down and through, careful to not turn right. I don't work ball below the varsity level so I've never seen it. The play you described may happen at younger levels. If so, those umpires can now know what to do. |
|
|||
Quote:
BECAUSE: What if the ball had gone down the RF line - you have to be ready to go. So what then if getting knocked down impeded the runners ability to go to 2B. Then what? Next time you're at a game and not umping watch the runners.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Seriously, it is alright to A2D. I and the Fed rules authors don't call it OBS. I coach my son's U12 team, by the way. It is great fun and therapy for a hectic umpiring schedule. I wish you a great Spring. May this snow melt soon so we can get out there and enjoy the game again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The CB ruling says "prior to possessing the ball". That indicates (at least to me) that F3 does eventually catch the throw.
|
|
|||
Yeah, it implies it, I agree. Since he said "possessing" instead of "catching", I did not assume, and left open the possibility that F3 had to go get it before possessing it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The question clearly states that he doesn't possess the ball. He is lunging for it when the collison occurs.
Quote:
Also, I don't work games with female players. Last edited by MikeStrybel; Fri Feb 24, 2012 at 11:32am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe this will clarify... I'm saying the interp posted in the first post does not apply to a ball that is not caught by F3 (assumedly immediately after contact) - but does apply to one that IS caught (gloved, whatever --- POSSESSED immediately after contact). Are you saying that if, on a wild throw toward right field, if F3 contacts the batter-runner while trying to catch the ball AFTER BR has touched first - and then does not catch the ball, you do not have OBS on F3 when BR sees the ball get away and heads to 2nd? If you are not saying this, then no one is disagreeing with you. If you ARE saying that, I believe you are wrong - and that the OP's interp is not for this play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|