The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hamburg, NJ
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in attempt to retire B1 at first. The ball is thrown wide. As F3 lunges toward the ball, F3 collides with B1, knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a) while the runner is short of first base or (b) after the runner has contacted first base.
RULING: (a) Obstruction; (b) legal

Any ideas why the rulings are different?
I've read this play a few times and I still have a problem picturing how F3 knocks over B1 after B1 has passed 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richvee View Post
I've read this play a few times and I still have a problem picturing how F3 knocks over B1 after B1 has passed 1st.
Picture the "wide" being toward foul right field.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hamburg, NJ
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Picture the "wide" being toward foul right field.
OK. I can see it. Thanks. Given that situation, if F3 doesn't catch the ball, hasn't he obstructed B1 from advancing to 2nd?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1