![]() |
Both rule references state that diving over a fielder is illegal. Either works when explaining to a coach that his kid is out. The big difference in the two is live ball/dead ball awareness. In your play there is no continuous action so it only remains alive for that second or two until you kill it to ring him up. Most other illegal slides have an interference component that kills it immediately. Good luck with your test.
|
I thought this question could have been worded better. As it's written, a couple of answers seem possible to me:
With R1 at first base, less than two outs. A shot back at the pitcher deflects off the pitcher's foot toward first base. The pitcher chases the ball into the baseline between home and first. The pitcher arrives at the ball ahead of the batter-runner. As the pitcher is reaching for the ball, the batter-runner collides with the pitcher (not malicious) and both players fall to the ground. The pitcher gets up with the ball and tosses to first base for the put-out on the batter-runner. * A. Obstruction on the pitcher; award BR at least first base; and award the base he is forced to by BR's obstruction award unless he advances further while the ball is in play * B. Inference on the BR; call him out and return R1 to first base * C. Incidental contact; play on * D. The out stands; award R1 2nd base |
I saw this play on youtube, and it replays in my head constantly. Make it stopppppp!!!
|
Quote:
|
No, I don't think its the exact same play. I recall that the youtube play has the ball, BR and F1 arriving at the same time. In this scenario, the pitcher arrives at the ball ahead of the runner.
In the situation presented here, I don't think C or D apply as answers (FED). The pitcher arriving AHEAD of the BR is key? As presented the BR has to allow the pitcher the opportunity to field the ball (read this literally, meaning the BR would have time to avoid F1), then I say B. ORRRRRRRR, does the F1 impede the BR without possession of the ball? I personally lean toward obstruction, as the F1 does not have possession of the ball and impeded the progress of the BR. Make that assumption and you have A. Either way this is a lose-lose call, expect a brew-ha-ha. I agree that this question is poorly written, given that you have to either read it literally and make assumptions, or make assumptions and read into the situation. This makes it a poor learning situation. |
Quote:
What do you have on this one, Bob? |
|
In this play, the ball has been deflected and is rolling, clearly not in possession of F1. I don't believe F1 has protection as he is clearly not attempting to field a batted or thrown ball. If the ball rolls into the baseline, what is the BR's responsibility to avoid interference?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The part that's unclear to me is whether F1 initially "tried to field" the ball. In FED, a runner is out if he "hinders a fielder on his INITIAL (emphasis added) attempt to field a batted ball. A fielder is not protected ... if he misplays the ball and has to move from his original location" (8-4-2g) In NCAA, "If a fielder chases after a deflected batted ball ahead of a runner's arrival and is in the act of picking up the ball (fielding) when contact is made by an offensive player, interference is the call." 2-Interference, AR5 In OBR, if ANOTHER (emphasis added) fielder has an opportunity to make a play, then it's interference. (Sorry, no books handy for an exact quote / reference). Some school(s) apparently teach that the protection also applies to the SAME fielder as long as he's back to fielding the ball and not just chasing after it. |
I see your point about fielding the ball and then leaving that position to retrieve it. From the way it's written, I read it to be that it was a smash back that carromed (sp?) off the pitcher's foot towards the first base line. I then read it to be that the pitcher was reaching for the ball to make a play, but you're right it isn't clear. I can see where an umpire might assume that the pitcher was rushing to get a ball that he deflected foul and stepped into the running lane.
It wasn't my favorite question. |
Getting hit by a batted ball is not an attempt to field it, and thus a deflection is not a misplayed ball. Protection continues for the fielder fielding a batted ball. JMHO.
|
Agreed. I noted that in post #21. I have requested a rule interp on this one from the IHSA but may have to wait since it is a current test question.
|
From an esteemed member on another forum:
Quote:
|
Obstruction would be the correct call at the Fed level too.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52am. |