The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 03, 2003, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
I'm looking for a little insight on a potential balk. It is not expressly answered in the rule book or already by this forum.

Last night I was field umpire for a pony league baseball game. The RH pitcher, when attempting a pickoff at first base, lifted his pivot foot, landed and wheeled to first. The potential problem is that his pivot foot did not clear nor land behind the rubber; instead the pivot foot landed ahead of the rubber, two feet to the right.

There are a few instances in the major league rule book that states a pitcher must step backward off the rubber 8.01 (b) and 8.05 (e) to become a fielder, but nothing in 8.05 states that a pitcher has to step directly behind rubber.

Is the fact that the pitcher did not step backward a balk? Would it have mattered if the foot had crossed the plane of the rubber and still landed in front of it?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1