The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Another potential balk (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/8865-another-potential-balk.html)

Nall23 Tue Jun 03, 2003 02:45pm

I'm looking for a little insight on a potential balk. It is not expressly answered in the rule book or already by this forum.

Last night I was field umpire for a pony league baseball game. The RH pitcher, when attempting a pickoff at first base, lifted his pivot foot, landed and wheeled to first. The potential problem is that his pivot foot did not clear nor land behind the rubber; instead the pivot foot landed ahead of the rubber, two feet to the right.

There are a few instances in the major league rule book that states a pitcher must step backward off the rubber 8.01 (b) and 8.05 (e) to become a fielder, but nothing in 8.05 states that a pitcher has to step directly behind rubber.

Is the fact that the pitcher did not step backward a balk? Would it have mattered if the foot had crossed the plane of the rubber and still landed in front of it?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

chris s Tue Jun 03, 2003 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nall23
I'm looking for a little insight on a potential balk. It is not expressly answered in the rule book or already by this forum.

Last night I was field umpire for a pony league baseball game. The RH pitcher, when attempting a pickoff at first base, lifted his pivot foot, landed and wheeled to first. The potential problem is that his pivot foot did not clear nor land behind the rubber; instead the pivot foot landed ahead of the rubber, two feet to the right.

There are a few instances in the major league rule book that states a pitcher must step backward off the rubber 8.01 (b) and 8.05 (e) to become a fielder, but nothing in 8.05 states that a pitcher has to step directly behind rubber.

Is the fact that the pitcher did not step backward a balk? Would it have mattered if the foot had crossed the plane of the rubber and still landed in front of it?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~
Sounds like a "Jab-step", legal move, consider f1 "on the rubber"Just in casethat ball go sailin......

Jim Porter Tue Jun 03, 2003 03:15pm

Re: As discussed,
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
It is accepted under all rules (of games played by players of shaving age)
Tee, you can go even further. Not even the kiddies are prohibited from making that move.

chris s Tue Jun 03, 2003 05:26pm

Re: I also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
Forgot to metion,

"the jab step, as developed by Jim Porter when an ace Little League pitcher!" :-}

Now guys dion't rail on me, this is a litle joke betwix Jim and yrs trly.

Tee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
hey, some of those kiddies do it pretty well,I would like to see Jim's move....LOL

Jim Porter Wed Jun 04, 2003 02:21pm

Re: I also
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
Forgot to metion,

"the jab step, as developed by Jim Porter when an ace Little League pitcher!" :-}

Yep. But there is no truth to the rumor that officials tried to have me removed from Little League because there was nothing, "little," about me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1