The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Yes, what is the correct answer.

Batter swings and ball hits his hands and the bat, ball roles into fair territory, umpire correctly yells dead ball and assesses a strike, it is the batter's 3rd strike. Is the batter out?

FED 8-1-1d
Batter becomes a runner when a pitched ball hits his person or clothing, provided he does not strike at the ball
EXCEPTION ... if the umpire calls the pitched ball a strike, the hitting of the batter is deregarded except that the ball is dead.

The exception seems to be that he didn't hit the ball. The ball hit him somewhere else as he swung and the ball didn't hit the bat.

Seems that the correct call should be FOUL BALL. Hit him and the bat while still in the box.(7-2-1f)

What if it didn't hit the bat - he swings and the ball hits the hands squarely, rolls into fair territory? Now what? swing and a miss? Foul ball?

FED casebook doesn't offer much help - 8.1.1D

Somebody bust out their Jaksa/Roder and give us their interpretation.

Thanks
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1