The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 24, 2003, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Porter
If you allow objects in live ball territory, then they are live ball objects. No, a ball bucket doesn't have any business being out of the dugout. But if it is, and the ball strikes it, play on my friend, play on. I need a definitive ruling to believe otherwise.
FED 1-4 Penalty: If loose equipment interferes with play, the umpire may call an out(s), award bases or return runners, based on his judgment and the circumstances concerning the play.


NCAA 1-15d AR(2001 book): If a pitched, batted or thrown ball touches equipment that is in live-ball territory, the ball remains live.

I don't think it's covered in OBR, but JEA / JR may have something to say on it.

It's only happened to me once, but I chose (and would again) the interp that penalized the offending team. IOW, if a defensive team leaves equipment out, and that prevents the ball from going to dead ball territory, I'd award bases. IF the offensive team left the equipment out, keep the ball live.


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1