The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally posted by Mando
I just started umpiring several weeks ago. I was working behind the plate and thank God my partner had to make this call. There was a runner on first base and one out. The batter hits a foul ball just over first base and over the fence. I threw in a new ball to the pitcher. A fan throws the ball back to the first baseman. The batter then hits the ball into the outfield, tries to stretch it into a double, and ends up in a run down. The ball is thrown to the first baseman who now ends up with two balls in his glove. He discards one ball and then tags out the runner. My partner calls out the runner and states that since the first baseman dropped the other ball, the runner advanced at his own risk. I personally would have called obstruction and awarded the runner second base. What's the right call?
You as the PU should maintain control of the game. When there is a foul ball, you as PU should either get the foul ball back in, or get your BU to hold or have the foul ball held. The ball should not be put back into play until you as the PU maintain safe and controlled playing conditions.


IMO, you as the PU should have said "hold that ball!" or "1st base, get that ball please!", or "partner, get that ball please!".

What if there was a shot hit down 1st while the 1st baseman was retrieving a foul ball from the stands? That is a dangerous situation and someone can be seriously injured. Even with a player in a rundown and the other ball being discarded, can result in an injury.

You should be able to see the entire field as a PU. Just curious, when did you as the PU see the ball thrown in from foul territory?

But considering your situation, the ball should have been called dead once the another ball was discovered and the batter awarded 1st.

I don't recall any situation in the case book or rule book interpretation to this situation. Maybe someone can give a reference.


__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1