The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 04, 2003, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by Gemini [/i]

14 and under Fed baseball game. Pitcher off the rubber, strecthes, makes move to home, then throws to first. Runner is nailed because of the fake. PU calls balk, and I the BU agree. Coaches, pitcher and dad go crazy. I'm using Rule 6-2-5.

Is there something else hear I don't know about?


When in doubt go to the FED case book

FED case book play 6.2.5A

With R1, F1, in the stretch position, steps quickly backward off the pitcher's plate and with a motion much like his pitching delivery throws to the plate where (a) B1 hits the throw or (b) R1 is thrown out stealing by F2 on a pitchout.

RULING : In both (a) and (b) it is a balk. F1 while NOT TOUCHING the pitcher's plate, shall not make any movement naturally associated with the pitch.

Your scenario is similar to the above case Play.

My only question would be; Why was R1 off the first base bag to begin with when F1 is not TOUCHING the plate? We all played the game and that was one of the first rules of baserunning that I learned.

Your balk call was correct, but somewhere it would be nice to have a rule that says "if a player makes a "bonehead" mistake then all bets off". As a base runner you should be on the bag until F1 contacts the rubber, then you take your lead.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1