The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2003, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
If raising the pivot foot to the knee during the act of stepping backward off the plate is a balk, then would you consider a LHF1 who raises his nonpivot foot to the knee before he steps to 1B as having balked?

It seems that there is precedent set that raising the foot to the knee before replanting the foot is still part of stepping and is not a balk for the mere fact alone.

Cerainly in your scenario the pitcher is not allowed to throw to the base before the pivot hits the ground behind the rubber. That is, it's illegal to use the nonpivot foot as a pivot foot until having legally disengaged the rubber.


Freix
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1