The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member

Rule 8-2-8 (FED) says that a runner must re-touch his base after a dead ball. On an uncaught foull, he must return to the base occupied at the T.O.P.

I had a coach ask me this morning at school what the penalty was for this. There is none listed that I can find, but it seems absurd that there is none. What is it? When is this called, immediately upon the ball becoming live? Is this an appeal play?

If there were no penalty, then as a coach I would have my runners move to within about a foot of the next base on every uncaught foul. Then when the pitcher gets a ball and steps ont he rubber, I'd have him touch the next base.
Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member

Arrow

Except that the umpire will not put the ball back into play until all runners have returned to their base (or the vicinity of their base).
And we know that all upires DO put the ball back into play after every dead ball (including fouls) as required by the book!!!! (Don't we?)

Roger Greene

Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member

Was it Dick Groat who attempted the "89-foot lead" before the league clarified the rule?
Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 12:46pm
In Memoriam

Seems to me...

That the failure to retouch after a dead ball puts the runner in jeopardy. Once that runner gets to a succeeding base, the runner may not return to the preceding base , the defense could appeal the failure to retouch.

That is, R1 fails to retouch on a foul ball, and on the next pitch, R1 steals second. The defense could then appeal the failure to retouch 1B.

(I can't back this up with anything. )

mick

Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member

So, if I were the coach, I can just have my kid take the 89 foot lead. If the umpire puts the ball in play, then I'm home free.