View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 01:09pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Mick,

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim C
there is nothing to back up your ruling . . .

The return touch has become, over the years, an "unchecked" requirement.

As long as the runner returns to the vicinity of the base he has, for the intent of the rule, correctly complied.

In OBR, NCAA and FED the intenet is to stop an illegal advance, let's not make it more than that.

As soon as the PU puts the ball back into play the runner has complied with the rule. This is one reason it is very important for the PU to recognize the original AND the current positioning of all base runners.

There is no right of appeal on this play.

Tee
Tee,
I agree with your assessment and that, too, is the way I use the rule.
It's just one of those 'customary' things that I have a problem living with, ...although I do live with 'em.
mick
Reply With Quote