The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Correcting baserunning error during dead ball

Use OBR in your ruling.

The batter slides into 2nd with a double. The runner missed 1st base, however. Initially, the defense does not seem aware of the missed base. Time is granted to the runner so he can brush himself off and remove his body armor. When play resumes, the pitcher comes set, steps off, and throws the ball over to 1st to make an appeal that the runner had missed the base. However, the pitcher overthrows 1st and the ball goes out-of-play. The umpire awards the runner home (2-base award). Prior to accepting the award, the runner goes back and retouches 1st then advances around the bases to home.

Can the runner correct his baserunning error in this situation? If so, should the umpire still award him home?

Can the defense try another appeal once the ball is put back in play?

Last edited by David Emerling; Mon Aug 15, 2011 at 06:47pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correcting a coorrectable error jref Basketball 2 Fri Nov 13, 2009 06:04pm
Correcting An Error gracealone919 Basketball 6 Tue Oct 06, 2009 07:57am
Baserunning Error ranger71 Baseball 8 Sat Apr 15, 2006 01:54pm
Correcting baserunning errors greymule Softball 2 Wed Jan 29, 2003 03:13pm
correcting an error Don1415 Baseball 1 Tue May 07, 2002 11:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1