The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2011, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Is this an appeal that must be made by the defense, we allow the former runner to go back and touch home plate, but call him out upon successful appeal or call him out right away because of interference?
Yes, those are the questions / options.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2011, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Let's say that the original post involved a COACH (as opposed to a teammate). According to the 2011 BRD, in OBR there is no provision in the MLBUM, PBUC Manual, J/R or JEA addressing what penalty, if any, is to be applied if a coach assists the runner during a dead ball.

The BRD says that according to an e-mail Rick Roder (of the J/R manual) sent Carl Childress in 1993, Mr. Roder would recommend calling the runner out.

However, Mr. Roder's opinion is certainly not conclusive of this issue.

In FED, the runner is not out if the coach assists during a dead ball.

Now, if the posts subsequent to the original post in this thread are correct, and that assistance by a teammate is to be treated in the same manner as assistance by a coach...then we do not know the proper ruling in OBR. There is no official ruling on coach's assistance during a dead ball in OBR, MLBUM, PBUC Manual, JEA or J/R.

I would argue that the FED rule should apply in OBR. BRD says (to paraphrase) if you agree with Roder's e-mail then call the assisted runner out. Thus, I don't believe this will be definitively resolved until it happens on the MLB or MiLB level and it makes its way into the MLBUM or PBUC Manual.

Last edited by lawump; Wed Aug 03, 2011 at 01:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2011, 08:28pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Just because Angel Hernandez likes to make s(tuff) up...

...doesn't mean you should.

There's no rules support for an out in either case--live or dead.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 04, 2011, 10:26am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Some things simply don't have rules support.

(1) The runner missed the plate by a considerable amount. I saw it, the teammate saw it, the other team saw it.
(2) The teammate pushed the runner back to the plate.
(3) The runner wouldn't have missed the plate had the teammates stayed in the dugout.

Spirit and intent discussions fascinate me. In one respect, the batter beat the pitcher -- he hit it out. On the other hand, the runner is expected to round the bases and touch them properly.

To me, without specific direction from authoritative sources, this is one of those rare 9.01(c) situations.

In case anyone cares, I called the B-R out. I'm sure some will disagree and some have already privately agreed with me. The coach, of course, had the right to protest and since this was a Little League Junior State Championship, he could've run the protest right to Indianapolis and then to Williamsport. He didn't. The coaches are well reminded of the protest procedure during the coaches' meeting. I know, cause I was there to run the rules part of the meeting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One to chew on Dave Hensley Baseball 28 Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:21am
Here's one for you to chew on!! The Ref of OZ!!! General / Off-Topic 2 Thu Sep 02, 2004 12:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1