![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Re: What?
Quote:
Note that the illegitimate return is allowed and the onus is on the defense to later appeal after the runner has completed accepting his award. Due to a ball going to DBT the official must make an award to this runner on or beyond 2B before accepting an appeal. The other issue discussed at the same time dealt with which base this runner's award would be based from. Normally, after any throw from an outfielder going to DBT the award is based from TOT. However, rule 8-3-5 also states:
So the question arises in this situation where is the award based from if the runner is not attempting return at the time the ball goes to DBT? What if the runner was continuing to third, stopped at 2B, or merely stopped in the basepath abandoning any effort to return---feeling the attempt to return was hopeless from that position. Does the action of the runner actually attempting a return determine which from which base his award will be made? The state interpreter verified with Indianapolis that, indeed, the rule is written as they desire, and the action of the runner does determine from what location the award is based. Im told, however, that Childress in interviewing McNeely directed this same question to Kyle whose response was that it would be based from TOP---period. Childress considers his interview response from McNeely as a higher source level than that of a state interpreter. Yet, Childress is also aware that the state interpreter received his response from a higher source than McNeely. So, which ruling should we accept since they are in contradiction? As for myself, until I hear further I will make my ruling based on the obvious nature of the return. That is, if its evident that the runner obviously left 1B early, then Ill award based on TOP. If not obvious and the runner is not returning, Ill award based on TOT. IOW, Ill not allow my award to tip off the defense that a running infraction has occurred. Perhaps thats a rogue ruling that both is and is not supported by rule and ruling, yet I feel it is the ruling that is in accordance with the spirit and intent of the rule. Although a third world play, I faced this situation last spring in a Fed tourney game when an errant throw to retire R1, who had not retouched and who remained standing on 2B, entered the 1B dugout. I awarded the runner 3B only. Although the defense was well aware of R1s obvious infraction, they never later appealed. They must have felt that the award negated their right to appeal---who knows Freix ] |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|