The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2003, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Yes, what if a runner is safe at 3B but somehow time gets called. Obviously he can't return during time out (though he can during a mere dead ball). But can he try to return to touch 2B when the ball is put in play, or is he stuck at 3B?
He obviously couldn't attempt to return after the ball becomes live.
The only way the ball could become live would be for the
pitcher to be on the rubber ready to pitch, correct?
Here's rule from rule 7.01:
    If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.

If he attempted return illegally after the ball became live,
I'd call time and declare him out based on 7.01.



Methinks the difference is the ability to go back and retouch during a dead ball only if he is awarded bases and he has not touched an advance base from his location at the time the ball becomes dead.

Maybe some of our wizards want to jump in rather than just lurk.....LOL.


Freix

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1