The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2003, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Okay, Moose............I'm back........

IMO, the ability of the runner to return in this instance ONLY APPLIES when being allowed to return due to an award being issued. Otherwise, if he's reached his advance base, no return is going to allowed during a dead ball.

From 7.05 Endnotes:
    If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base.

In my original reply to Greymule's situation, I was envisioning an award and thinking that either the runner or his sub could still return, which I would allow if the ball went to DBT.

However, without the ball going to DBT, I'd not allow the runner at 3B to go back and correct his error merely because the ball became dead due to calling time. If you let that happen, though, it might sure stop those defenders from asking for time merely because the ball is returned to the infield and they wish to kill play.......LOL.

Good question, Greymule.........
I hadn't seen it or thought about it before, but I'm not letting him go back without a due award after he's touched his next advanced base.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1