The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 06:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
When Does an At Bat End....

When does an at bat end and the next begin?

Sit: Batter is hit by a pitch. While the hit batter is being checked the DC visits the pitcher. The pitcher then throw 3 straight balls to the next batter. The DC again visits the mound. Is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 06:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Next at bat starts as soon as last batter is out or changes status as a base runner. In your situation the new at bat starts as soon as the plate umpire awards the batter first base by acknowledging the HBP.

In your sit. the second trip is only legal in FED. as long as the coach still has visits remaining. In NCAA and OBR the coach should be stopped before he makes his second visit with the same batter of record.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 08:54am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
In NCAA and OBR the coach should be stopped before he makes his second visit with the same batter of record.

Why would you prohibit this action. Nothing prohibits a coach from making this visit. The only thing is that he must change pitchers. You do not know his reasons for wanting a defensive conference.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 770
6.08(a) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when four “balls” have been called by the umpire.

That said, the umpire shouldn't allow a mound visit until after the batter-runner has touched first base.
__________________
Andrew Senger
Webmaster: RefVB.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Why would you prohibit this action. Nothing prohibits a coach from making this visit. The only thing is that he must change pitchers. You do not know his reasons for wanting a defensive conference.

MTD, Sr.
the rule prohibits a second visit during the same at bat. If the coach insists, then he's ejected, the pitcher must complete pitching to that batter, and then must be replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Why would you prohibit this action. Nothing prohibits a coach from making this visit. The only thing is that he must change pitchers. You do not know his reasons for wanting a defensive conference.
Mark, a coach can't visit a pitcher twice during the same batter.

8.06(c): A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher: The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but
__________________
Andrew Senger
Webmaster: RefVB.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 44
Does it matter that there is timeout by the Offense to check on their hit batter? Is the defense allowed to visit or conference during an offense time out as long as they return to dugout when other coach does?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by frozenrope22 View Post
Does it matter that there is timeout by the Offense to check on their hit batter? Is the defense allowed to visit or conference during an offense time out as long as they return to dugout when other coach does?
Only in FED.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 11:21am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
Mark, a coach can't visit a pitcher twice during the same batter.

8.06(c): A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher: The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but

That's why I only umpire NFHS. Thanks, Andrew.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 08, 2017, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 18
A new riff on an old question

This occurred at a Pony tournament.

Two rules to keep in mind: the MLB rule about intentional walks (can be by coach request, no pitches required) and a tournament rule that a team must bat ten players. If not able to bat ten, then an out will be declared in that slot in the batting order

Situation: two outs, R1 at 2B. B1 given no-pitch IW. The offense is not batting ten, so the next slot will be declared out. Before B1 reaches 1B, R1 attempts to steal 3rd and is caught stealing.

Question: is the caught stealing the third out or is the not batting ten the third out? The answer affects whether the team's next inning starts w/an out (the caught stealing was the 3rd out) or not (the not bat 10 was the third out)

My thought was that the caught stealing is the third out because B1 had not reached first, so the AB was not completed. If the AB is completed when the walk is awarded (per this thread), then would the not bat 10 penalty be enforced, making the caught stealing a moot point and allowing the team to start their next inning on offense with no outs?

Last edited by ren0901; Sat Jul 08, 2017 at 08:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 08, 2017, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Only in FED.
And LL
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 08, 2017, 09:47am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
Mark, a coach can't visit a pitcher twice during the same batter.

8.06(c): A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher: The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
When does an at bat end and the next begin?

Sit: Batter is hit by a pitch. While the hit batter is being checked the DC visits the pitcher. The pitcher then throw 3 straight balls to the next batter. The DC again visits the mound. Is this legal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Why would you prohibit this action. Nothing prohibits a coach from making this visit. The only thing is that he must change pitchers. You do not know his reasons for wanting a defensive conference.

MTD, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
That's why I only umpire NFHS. Thanks, Andrew.

MTD, Sr.

Andrew:

Let me ask a follow up question.

What if F1, after three pitches tells F2 and the PU that he has injured his throwing arm? Can the DC attend to F1 to make a decision regarding his injury?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 08, 2017, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by ren0901 View Post
This occurred at a Pony tournament.

Two rules to keep in mind: the MLB rule about intentional walks (can be by coach request, no pitches required) and a tournament rule that a team must bat ten players. If not able to bat ten, then an out will be declared in that slot in the batting order

Situation: two outs, R1 at 2B. B1 given no-pitch IW. The offense is not batting ten, so the next slot will be declared out. Before B1 reaches 1B, R1 attempts to steal 3rd and is caught stealing.

Question: is the caught stealing the third out or is the not batting ten the third out? The answer affects whether the team's next inning starts w/an out (the caught stealing was the 3rd out) or not (the not bat 10 was the third out)

My thought was that the caught stealing is the third out because B1 had not reached first, so the AB was not completed. If the AB is completed when the walk is awarded (per this thread), then would the not bat 10 penalty be enforced, making the caught stealing a moot point and allowing the team to start their next inning on offense with no outs?
You should, imo, start a new thread, rather than resurrect a thread that's six years old.

That said, (at least part of) your analysis is wrong -- the prior batter's AB had ended as soon as he became a runner.

In FED (and I know you said you were using OBR), the ball is dead on an intentional walk -- so R2 can't advance (or be put out). The "missing batter" becomes the third out -- note that some tournaments try to avoid this by NOT calling the out if the prior batter walks or is HBP.

In your play, the defense was willing to have the missing spot be the third out, and the offense was stupid to try to steal (they would benefit more by having the missing spot be the third out), so that's what I would do.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2017, 02:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Red face

Hello guys i am a new member here ,, and wanna discuss your posts .. )
thanks for your posts
__________________
Blockchain Today
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1