The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Yankees @ Blue Jays (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/74950-yankees-blue-jays.html)

lawump Thu Jul 21, 2011 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 773867)
Larry - ENOUGH ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What? I couldn't hear you; my wife was yelling in my other ear. :D

SAump Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:18pm

The Bobby Valentine Rule?
 
Apparently from ESPN, the original situation played out when Mr Bobby Valentine was a manager. AH made the correct NO call as Posada appealed from 1st base. The runner must be tagged while off base.

Gulf Coast Blue Sat Jul 23, 2011 01:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 773218)
Batter for Jays hits a grounder for what could be a 6-3. The throw draws F3 Posada off the bag. B/R oversteps first. Angel Hernandez makes no call. Posada makes a deliberate tag of the bag while looking at Hernandez. Still no call. Posada then jogs down the line to tag B/R who is called out.

Question on the mechanics: I have read some threads that say the B/R "attains" first base when he beats the play - even if he misses the bag - and the umpire is to signal safe so as not to tip off the defense that they need to make the appeal. Secondly, why wasn't the deliberate tag of the bag by F3 enough to make the appeal - it looked like he did it twice. Finally, if there were 2 outs and R3 is this a time play where the run would count or would it be "run does not count when the third out is made on B/R at first?

What about from the MLBUM.....

Interpretation of Rule 7.01: Appeal Plays: Approved Rulings (12) Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag. Ruling: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to call the runner safe, indicating he beat the play. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out.

Posada did pull his foot which might change this........

Joel

dash_riprock Sat Jul 23, 2011 06:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue (Post 774427)
What about from the MLBUM.....

Interpretation of Rule 7.01: Appeal Plays: Approved Rulings (12) Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag. Ruling: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to call the runner safe, indicating he beat the play. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out.

Posada did pull his foot which might change this........

Joel

I don't think it changes anything other than the addition of an "off the bag" mechanic to indicate why the batter-runner is safe. The batter-runner still beat the "play" at 1st base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1