![]() |
|
|
|||
As Dave Reed's post implies, you have not given us enough information. If F6 truly did not touch the ball when he missed it, then the issue becomes whether or not another defensive player (i.e. F5) had a chance to make a play on the ball. If yes, then R2 is out. If no, then "that's nothing!" and the ball remains live.
|
|
|||
So if the infield is playing in and F6 is moving laterally toward the hole for the grounder which goes past him by more than a "step and a reach" and the untouched ball hits the runner, R2 would be out, correct? I suppose the OP would need to specify the rule set (of an alternate string theory universe).
|
|
|||
Quote:
FED & NCAA, No. That's the way it is. Deal with it.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Rich,
The NCAA rule was changed in 2011. It now says: The runner, including a runner in contact with a base, is hit while in fair territory by a batted ball before it has touched a fielder or passed all infielders who have a chance to make a play on the ball, other than the pitcher..... The phrase "who have a chance to make a play on the ball" was added. This makes NCAA and OBR effectively the same. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batted Ball Hits Runner on Base | kheisner | Baseball | 9 | Thu Sep 03, 2009 07:38am |
Ball hits runner | Four Seam | Softball | 7 | Wed Jul 25, 2007 04:11pm |
ball hits runner | ggk | Baseball | 33 | Fri Jul 07, 2006 04:54pm |
Ball Hits Runner?????????????? | slowballbaker | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 08:31am |
run scores before ball hits runner | greymule | Softball | 3 | Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:19am |