The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to tucktheump
Quote:
Originally posted by sneallyk
Don't have rule book handy to quote you the rule # but the answer is "C", dead ball and R1 is out. The only way the runners are protected in this situation is if they are in foul territory "only" when struck by a batted ball.
The answer is only C if the interference is deemed intentional. A runner in foul territory who is struck by a batted ball is not always protected. PLAY: Runner (R3), while in foul territory, intentionally or unintentionally hinders the 3rd baseman from fielding a line drive that could have been caught otherwise.


Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
Runner out. Force removed. No runs score. Inning Over.
Rich,
You are correct if the fielders had a reasonable chance to field the ball and it is determined by the umpire that the interference is intentional. (rule 8-5 k A.R.-2). But what if it is deemed unintentional, or the fielders could not have fielded the ball with a reasonable effort?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1