The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2003, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Freix: Their claim of abandonment is interesting. To me, if a batter hits a fly ball to center field and starts walking back toward the 3B dugout, but then F8 drops the ball, the batter can still turn around and run to 1B. But according to them, he abandoned effort and would be out. And in that case, why wait for F8 to catch the ball? Call the BR out as soon as he takes a few steps toward the dugout.

On the play you mention, I would rule that the BR reinstated the force by retreating toward home and that only 1B need be tagged. However, I'd be careful to use terminology other than "force." By the way, I've seen that play happen, and for what it's worth, the umps called an out when the base was tagged.

Otherwise, I cannot think of a single play in which interpreting the BR as being "forced" to 1B on a ground ball would change a ruling.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1