The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 04, 2003, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
R3, R1, 2 out. BR hits ground ball to F6, who steps on 2B for the third out. Everybody knows that R3's run does not count even if R3 crossed the plate before the out. The third out was a force play.

Same situation, but F6 throws to F3 for the out at 1B. Everybody knows that R3's run does not count even if R3 crossed the plate before the out. The third out was made by the BR before he reached 1B safely.

But why is the BR's out not considered a force out? Can anyone think of a play in which the distinction between the BR out before reaching 1B and a runner being forced out at another base makes any difference? If the BR out before reaching 1B has exactly the same effect as a force play, why do we draw the distinction?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1