The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 2.71 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Not true. Intent has nothing to do with it. If you judge the retired or scored runner interfered with the play, you enforce 7.09.

Example: R3, 0 outs. Batter flies out to right field where R3 tags and attempts to score. Once the ball is caught, the BR turns and runs towards his third base dugout where the throw from F9 hits him, preventing any play. Ruling: R3 is declared out for the unintentional INT of the BR.

This example is different from the OP, but it illustrates that the INT can be unintentional. If, in the orig OP, a play was possible, I would get the INT.
That's nothing.

A "play" and a "throw" are different things.

Try this one:

R2. Fly to F9. R2 tags and heads to 3B after the catch. F9's throw to 3B hits R2. The call?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference Call? Badamk Softball 24 Fri May 01, 2009 01:26pm
Interference call Dakota Softball 3 Mon May 15, 2006 02:48pm
interference or bad call khaas Softball 2 Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:25am
Would you call this interference? bobbrix Softball 12 Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:31pm
Interference or no call jeffrey g. skinner Softball 7 Wed Mar 07, 2001 03:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1