![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
While I agree that UMPTT was correct and that 6.04(h) covers the situation, INTENT is not relevant to the ruling. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Its actually 6.05h:
6.05 A batter is out when— (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play; Last edited by umpjong; Thu Oct 07, 2010 at 12:02pm. |
|
|||
It does if there IS intent.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Johnny's comment was different than mine so I stand by mine. Last edited by DG; Thu Oct 07, 2010 at 08:56pm. |
|
|||
JM, you're a better writer than me so based on what I wrote, you might certainly interpret what I wrote differently...I'm okay with that. However, I'm missing where you feel that intent isn't part of the rule. Both the MLBUM interp posted by DG and the rule posted by umpjong both state intent as part of the rule. Help me understand what I'm missing?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
![]()
johnny,
The point I was trying to make (not very well) was that if the bat hits the ball, even if the umpire judges no intent, the BR is out and the ball is dead. If the ball hits the bat, then the runner is not liable to be called out - unless the umpire judges intent; I can't imagine myself judging intent in the case where the ball hits the bat, but I suppose it's possible. I apologize for creating confusion. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
OBR 6.05(g) FED 7-2-1-f Some were just changed this year. Gotta keep up ;-)
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Son throws no hitter | SAump | Baseball | 1 | Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:35am |
On-Deck Hitter | C'monBlue | Baseball | 13 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:58am |
slap hitter | mccann | Softball | 15 | Thu May 05, 2005 02:58pm |
Additional Hitter | richray | Softball | 3 | Wed May 26, 2004 09:51pm |
Cal's big hitter | chris s | Softball | 12 | Thu May 29, 2003 09:13pm |