![]() |
Timing play or not?
FED rules, runners on 1st and 3rd, 1 out. Fly ball to deep center field. R3 tags and scores, R1 goes halfway to 2B and gets thrown out at 1st after R3 has scored.
Does the run count? |
etn_ump,
It is a time play. If the R3 scores before the R1 is put out on a retouch appeal at 1B, the run scores. If the R1 is put out first, the R3's run does not score. There are only three situations with a 3rd out that are NOT time plays - everything else IS. They are: 1. BR is retired before safely touching 1B. (4.09(a) Ex. 1) 2. A forced runner is retired while he is still forced. (4.09(a) Ex. 2) 3. A preceding runner is retired on appeal after following runner(s) have scored. (7.12) JM |
Quote:
|
You guys are being gentle with someone with these credentials:
T.S.S.A.A. - Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association T.C.U.A. - Tennessee Collegiate Umpires Association |
Quote:
We ruled correctly, just wanted rules citations for future references. Sorry I asked. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
The point is if you're a college umpire, and don't know that simple rule, there's a problem.
|
Quote:
The correct term is "time play" not timing play. |
Quote:
|
I know several college umpires who shouldn't be doing college games, but their "A" job has a flexible schedule so they get the games. Certainly, many of the guys who do the college ball in our area are very good and very qualified. But I know many excellent umpires who can't do college because of their job.
No comment on the OP. I think regardless of the guy's credentials, he deserves a fair answer to his question, not picking him apart because of what we read in his signature. |
Quote:
It may even be a regional thing. Like supper. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I went to JEAPU and the Jim and his instructors never referred to it as anything but a time play. And they corrected students who said timing play. It has stuck with me since. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm. |