![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Obstruction/interference
			 
			
			
			Runner on 2nd.    Ground ball hit to ss who steps into base bath to field the bouncing ball.  As ss is down in to position to field the ball - in the base path- the runner clips the ss legs and ball goes into left field.   
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I called interference as the ss was in a an position to field the ball. runner HC wanted obstruction since the fielder was in base path. Did I call ir correct? Could not find a rule cite in book. Thanks  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			7.08b 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Instructor's Comments Once again, the base runner has the right of way to the baseline on a thrown ball and can only be called out if he/she INTENTIONALLY interferes with a thrown ball. On a batted ball, however, any interference, whether intentional or otherwise, must be enforced. This could be visual or verbal as well.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 "Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not." 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Cheers, mb  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| interference or obstruction? | umpire george | Softball | 36 | Wed Oct 22, 2008 04:35pm | 
| Obstruction vs Interference | rwest | Softball | 19 | Thu May 04, 2006 12:50pm | 
| Obstruction or interference | akalsey | Baseball | 6 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 08:00am | 
| Obstruction or Interference | sprivitor | Softball | 4 | Sat May 24, 2003 10:41am | 
| Obstruction/Interference | gmtomko | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 16, 2003 03:01pm |