The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction/interference (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58549-obstruction-interference.html)

smbbcoach99 Mon Jul 05, 2010 01:53pm

Obstruction/interference
 
Runner on 2nd. Ground ball hit to ss who steps into base bath to field the bouncing ball. As ss is down in to position to field the ball - in the base path- the runner clips the ss legs and ball goes into left field.

I called interference as the ss was in a an position to field the ball. runner HC wanted obstruction since the fielder was in base path.

Did I call ir correct? Could not find a rule cite in book.

Thanks

txump81 Mon Jul 05, 2010 02:21pm

7.08b

Instructor's Comments Once again, the base runner has the right of way to the baseline on a thrown ball and can only be called out if he/she INTENTIONALLY interferes with a thrown ball. On a batted ball, however, any interference, whether intentional or otherwise, must be enforced. This could be visual or verbal as well.

johnnyg08 Mon Jul 05, 2010 02:34pm

Fielder can field the ball...runner must avoid the fielder. good call

bob jenkins Mon Jul 05, 2010 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by smbbcoach99 (Post 684530)
Could not find a rule cite in book.

Really?

Try 7.09 something

mbyron Tue Jul 06, 2010 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by smbbcoach99 (Post 684530)
I called interference as the ss was in a an position to field the ball. runner HC wanted obstruction since the fielder was in base path.

The term 'position to field the ball' does not appear in the INT rule. The rule on a batted ball gives the fielder the absolute right of way. You made the right call for (possibly) the wrong reason.

"Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1