![]() |
|
|
|||
Maybe in LL it is, Rich, but in "big boy ball" if you flip it out to transfer it, you better control it! If you flip it and it falls to the ground, it is not a catch. That said, if an infielder makes a catch for the 3rd out and flips the ball out of his glove to the mound, that is still a catch.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Chris Young released a ball from his glove to his hand below after a catch last Friday night, and dropped it at his feet, after missing his hand. Jason Werth circled the bases while Upton messed around, thinking he had a catch.
Ruling: No catch. http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=7620299 Last edited by Kevin Finnerty; Fri Apr 30, 2010 at 10:56am. |
|
|||
Kevin, thanks for posting the video link. Personally, I think the call could have gone either way.
If this was a second baseman working the front end of a double play, would anyone call the runner safe at second? JJ |
|
|||
![]()
There is a big difference between a ball falling straight down, as opposed to coming out to the side on the front end of a double play. Dropping the ball indicates dropping the ball.......no control. I would certainly call the runner safe in your example. To the side, sure; on the transfer.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
You are changing the rule from voluntary release to transfer with control.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Tigers v Twins: Possible HBP | johnSandlin | Baseball | 10 | Thu Oct 08, 2009 01:32pm |
Tigers vs Injuns 5-1-09 Laz Diaz? no-call | jwwashburn | Baseball | 68 | Sat May 09, 2009 09:41pm |
White Sox/Twins Game | jdmara | Baseball | 3 | Wed Apr 30, 2008 05:39pm |
Go Tigers | schmitty1973 | Football | 6 | Sun Aug 20, 2006 06:10pm |
Tigers Win!!! Tigers Win !! | mick | Basketball | 19 | Tue Sep 30, 2003 06:19pm |