The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 18, 2002, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Apples to oranges in one sense. Yes, on ball 4, B1 is awarded 1B without liability to be put out, but the ball is still live, and I would think some of the same principles would apply.

There seem to be endless variations on B1 interfering with a pitch that gets away. How about these two:

1. In attempting to scoop ball 4 in the dirt, F2 knocks the ball in the air 15 feet down the 1B line. B1 takes off for first, and the ball hits his heel and (a) goes into the dugout, or (b) bounces away such that he reaches 2B.

2. R1 on 3B. Ball 4 is in the dirt and bounces up in front of home plate as B1 starts to run to 1B. B1 knocks the ball far enough away from F2 for R1 to score.

I'm surprised these plays have never happened to me. What are the correct calls? Would they be different if strike 3 instead of ball 4?

I'd be inclined to just call the ball dead -- advance BR and any forced runners; return others.

If another runner was advancing and I thought F2 had a play, then I'd be more likely (read: HTBT) to call interference. The walk entitles BR to advance w/o being "put out" but he still must advance legally and can be "declared out".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1