The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2010, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
EDITED TO CORRECT IT. I read the case book wrong the first time.

2009 case book

2.5.1.E.c

The batter hits the ball, drops the bat and it unintentionally hits the ball a second time in c) fair territory and is either touched by a fielder and/or comes to rest in foul territory. RULING c) the ball is fair

2.16.1 Situation D
B1's bunt rolls up the first base line where it hits B1's bat that was lying on the ground in fair territory. The ball deflects into foul territory. Is the ball fair or foul? RULING: The ball is foul provided the bat was not placed ther intentionally.




Don't any of you belong to NFHS so you can see the rules on line?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Tue Mar 16, 2010 at 10:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2010, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Rich,

My (hardcopy) 2009 casebook says in 2.5.1E(c) the ball is fair.

Which contradicts the ruling of foul in 2.16.1D.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2010, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Rich,

My (hardcopy) 2009 casebook says in 2.5.1E(c) the ball is fair.

Which contradicts the ruling of foul in 2.16.1D.

JM
And, so does the 2010 case book.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2010, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Rich,

My (hardcopy) 2009 casebook says in 2.5.1E(c) the ball is fair.

Which contradicts the ruling of foul in 2.16.1D.

JM
I read it wrong - my bad.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA rule book and case book SAK Basketball 11 Mon Jul 13, 2009 08:36am
Case book 5.3.3 phansen Football 7 Wed Dec 13, 2006 06:06pm
Beyond the Case Book tcannizzo Softball 4 Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm
Case Book 10.3.6 APHP Basketball 3 Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:43pm
Case Book fletch_irwin_m Basketball 5 Sat Feb 08, 2003 02:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1