The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 25
Lightbulb

Just happened last night. U18 game, FED rules. R1 at third with two out. This kid stole home earlier. Pitcher toes the rubber in stretch. He has not looked in for any signs yet. The runner takes off for home. The pitcher steps toward home and easily throws out the runner. Team wanted Balk called because he did not step off rubber. I contedned it was a pick-off play at home and pitcher properly stepped toward bag. My contention was that the pitcher never began his move to come set, therefore; perfectly legal pick-off. Coach bought that but contended he threw to an unoccupied bag. That was an easy won to debunk. I believe I called this correct. The only Ref. I could find was Casebook 6.1.1 (comment) which says when pitcher assumes a set position. I read that before and thats what I interpreted. The pitcher had made no movement to the set position. Anybody have a similar situation?
__________________
cbestul
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1