The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling
With R3, the pitcher is on the pitcher's rubber getting his sign when the runner takes off for home. The pitcher simply throws the ball to the catcher and dispenses with his usual windup. Is this a balk? Is this a pitch?

Again, R3 steals home. But *this* time the pitcher has just begun his windup. Seeing the runner stealing, the pitcher noticeably hastens his windup and delivers the ball. Is this a balk?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
J/R says it's a pitch:
    J/R states:
      The windup and the set (or "stretch") are the two legal positions a pitcher can take when preparing to throw a pitch. A pitch [original emphasis]has occurred when a pitcher takes one of these positions, begins a motion to pitch, and legally steps and throws the ball toward home plate while still in-contact with the pitching rubber [my emphasis]. Either position may be used on any given pitch.


For the pitcher not to deliver a pitch to the plate, he must legally disengage the rubber.
If he throws from the rubber, the throw is a pitch.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1