The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 18, 2009, 03:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
"...Loney (F3) threw to Ronnie Belliard (F4), who was covering first base and stepped on the bag before tagging Ruiz (R1)..."

From the video, it appears to me that F4 DID tag R1 first and then the bag & the BR, contrary to what the writer states... (though it is all moot because "intentionally dropped ball" was invoked).

It appears that this might have been one of those odd-ball rehearsed plays to see if the fielders could get away with it...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 18, 2009, 08:51am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
"...Loney (F3) threw to Ronnie Belliard (F4), who was covering first base and stepped on the bag before tagging Ruiz (R1)..."

From the video, it appears to me that F4 DID tag R1 first and then the bag & the BR, contrary to what the writer states... (though it is all moot because "intentionally dropped ball" was invoked).

It appears that this might have been one of those odd-ball rehearsed plays to see if the fielders could get away with it...
It's close, but maybe you can look again. When R1 was tagged, the foot was already on the base.

Good call by Blue.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 18, 2009, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
"...Loney (F3) threw to Ronnie Belliard (F4), who was covering first base and stepped on the bag before tagging Ruiz (R1)..."

From the video, it appears to me that F4 DID tag R1 first and then the bag & the BR, contrary to what the writer states... (though it is all moot because "intentionally dropped ball" was invoked).

It appears that this might have been one of those odd-ball rehearsed plays to see if the fielders could get away with it...
Actually, I'm not so sure the ball was intentionally dropped. But I would have called it anyway - just because it should have been easily caught and the potential for a cheap-o double play was high.

On a play like that, the fielder has to be convinced that R1 is very convinced the ball is going to be caught and hold up at 1st. Imagine how stupid you look when R1 takes off running, you intentionally drop the ball, the umpire doesn't call it, and all you get is an out at 1st with a runner now in scoring position?

Also - you may be right. I looked at the video over and over again and I thought that Belliard may have tagged the runner before putting his foot on the bag. It's close. But it does appear that his foot is on the bag just prior to tagging Ruiz. In any case, it's pretty obvious that Belliard did not understand the significance of the sequence.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NSA Rule Interpretation re: Intentionally Dropped Ball BretMan Softball 29 Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:39pm
Intentionally dropped ball, or not? Yuri10 Baseball 7 Fri Mar 28, 2008 02:51pm
Intentionally Dropped Ball tobaccoroad14 Softball 6 Fri Jun 17, 2005 02:35pm
Intentionally Dropped Ball tzme415 Softball 13 Sat May 21, 2005 08:27am
Infield fly vs. an intentionally dropped ball tkrochta Softball 19 Tue May 25, 2004 08:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1