The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 26, 2002, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by robert


Happened today:
I was in the field, r1 r3, 1 out bottom of the last with the Home team up by one.


Robert

1 question? if the HT is leading by 1 run why are they batting in the bottom of the last inning. Perhaps you meant to say bottom of 6 (for a 7 inning game) or bottom of 8 for 9 inning game.

In any event I disagree with your ruling:

F3 catches it cleanly, but then he promptly turns his glove over, releasing the ball. He picks it up throws to second, F6 throws it back to first for the apparant double paly,

Sounds to me like F3 INTENTIONALLY dropped the ball in order to get 2, therefore, here's the rule I would have used.

OBR 6.05 A batter is out when_

(l) An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original base or bases;


Therefore, on this play I have B1 out, r1 returned to first base.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1