The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Ignore or not

FED. Batter swings at strike three in the dirt. As F2 is reaching down to pick up the ball, the now discarded bat hits the ball and knocks it a couple of feet away. F2 shifts and retrieves the ball and makes a wild throw past first. What should I have done on this play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
be ready to cover third.....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:39pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
be ready to cover third.....
Why? There won't be any runners arriving there.

If the batter throws his bat and hits the ball, he has interfered with the catcher's attempt to field the ball. That is Interference, and the batter is out. Runners return to their TOP bases. Rule 7-3-6 and PENALTY.

And why would the PU have any play at third in this situation even without Interference? He would have the ball down the line and the BU would have the bases, hence the term Base Umpire.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Tue Sep 29, 2009 at 12:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Good Coaching?

After the inning the coach of the batting team told me that he teaches his players to casually drop the bat in the direction of the ball. He said that the bat often either hits the ball or hinders the F2 and that they never get called for interference.

Later in the same game, the same batter hit a ball down the left field line. I was tracking the ball, but found out later (from an evaluator in the stands) that the batter flung his bat toward the catcher as he left for first base. The catcher seemed to be a little shook up, but nobody ever brought it to my attention. The evaluator said it was obvious to him that it was intentional, but that I was doing the correct thing by looking at the ball as it went into left field.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 01:52pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99 View Post
After the inning the coach of the batting team told me that he teaches his players to casually drop the bat in the direction of the ball. He said that the bat often either hits the ball or hinders the F2 and that they never get called for interference.

The coach is a cheating rat, and the umpires who don't call Interference when the fielder is hindered are not doing their jobs properly.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 02:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
The coach is a cheating rat, and the umpires who don't call Interference when the fielder is hindered are not doing their jobs properly.
Steve, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for re-affirming my belief in basic common sense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
The coach is a cheating rat
Steve,

You're the master of redundancy.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
...

If the batter throws his bat and hits the ball, he has interfered with the catcher's attempt to field the ball. That is Interference, and the batter is out. Runners return to their TOP bases. Rule 7-3-6 and PENALTY.

...
Steve,

Wrong rule.

The proper rule is 8-4-1a, and the batter is only out if the umpire judges that he intentionally hit the ball with his discarded bat.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 04:26pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Steve,

Wrong rule.

The proper rule is 8-4-1a, and the batter is only out if the umpire judges that he intentionally hit the ball with his discarded bat.

JM
8-4-1a makes no mention of a discarded bat. It only deals with the batter-runner intentionally interfering with the catcher on a 3rd strike. 7-3-6 references a thrown bat directly and states that if a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player (read: catcher) attempting a play, interference will be called.

And in addition, the OP was further clarified by stating that the coach directed his players to intentionally interfere with the catcher by throwing the bat at the ball, so it was very likely an intentional act by the batter.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:06pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
I came across this on the league I umpire in's Website in the umpire forum:

__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 224
And where is that rat coach going to be when some catcher calls his bluff, and has a pitcher drill his player in the head for this bush-league crap? That gutless coach isn't taking that headshot for that low rent, dirt ball, coaching tactic, his player is. He is over their in the comfort of the dugout letting his own player get drilled while he is thinking what a great coach he is. Let him come to bat and take the headshot. Then we will see what a great tactic that is.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

tballump,

Wow! The T-Ball in your neighborhood is a lot more "old school" than in mine.

Steve,

I agree that it is interference and the batter out if the umpire judges that he intentionally "released" the bat in a way intended to hit the ball.

However, if he just "normally" releases the bat, without any intent, and the bat happens to hit the ball (...which the defense has just "misplayed", resulting in the batter becoming a runner...) in a way that "complicates" the play of the defense, he is NOT guilty of interference, and it's "live ball, play the bounce". "That's Nothing!" would be the appropriate verbal.

The rule you cite applies when the bat complicates the play of the defense on a batted ball, not a "misplayed" ball that the defense is chasing. (And, apparently, as of 2009, on a "thrown" ball as well.)

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
7-3-6 refers to a thrown bat interfering with a player attempting a play. A bat dropped normally (with intent only to drop the bat, not direct it) is not a thrown bat. If the batter directed the bat at the ball, I would consider it "thrown." If it hindered the fielder's ability to attempt the play, e.g., knocked the ball farther away from him, I have INT.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 09:24pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
If the batter throws his bat and hits the ball, he has interfered with the catcher's attempt to field the ball. That is Interference, and the batter is out. Runners return to their TOP bases. Rule 7-3-6 and PENALTY.
In the OP, the discarded bat did not hinder catcher fielding the ball, the catcher's wild throw was the issue/question. It is not clear whether pitched ball was fair or foul but it was clearly not a batted ball. 7-3-6 is about a thrown bat.

So it appears that defense erred in throwing a wild pitch and offense is penalized because bat discarded contacts the pitch that has not been secured by the catcher.

Need something other than 7-3-6 to convince me this is INT, for this OP.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 10:10pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
In the OP, the discarded bat did not hinder catcher fielding the ball, the catcher's wild throw was the issue/question. It is not clear whether pitched ball was fair or foul but it was clearly not a batted ball. 7-3-6 is about a thrown bat.

So it appears that defense erred in throwing a wild pitch and offense is penalized because bat discarded contacts the pitch that has not been secured by the catcher.

Need something other than 7-3-6 to convince me this is INT, for this OP.
How do you figure that the "discarded" (i.e., THROWN, as I've never seen a batter gently lay his bat down to "discard" it, and I can safely ascertain that the OP meant "thrown") bat didn't hinder the catcher? It knocked the ball a couple of feet farther away from the catcher, who then had to rush his throw as a result. Perhaps there needs to be intent, but from subsequent info provided, it appears that this coach has his players intentionally interfere on a regular basis, so there's a good possibility that the hindrance of the catcher was intentional.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something you just cant ignore? hugheske44 Basketball 15 Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:13am
Rules to Ignore wmblue Baseball 6 Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:29pm
Ignore list mplagrow General / Off-Topic 2 Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:19am
How to ignore BigFarns Football 18 Thu Oct 12, 2006 04:30pm
Oh, you CAN ignore them! Hartsy Basketball 16 Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1