![]() |
|
|
|||
"]Just thought I'd throw some stuff in here from Evans Annotated and Roder. Interesting stuff.
Dave **** je5.08 5.08 If a thrown ball accidently touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out. Cross Ref: 3.15, 5.09(g, Notes), 6.05(b) Notes, 7.05(i), 7.11 History: At the turn of the century (1900), when an umpire was struck by the catcher’s throw to retire a runner, the ball was ruled dead and the runner had to return. Later, as the two umpire system developed, the ball was ruled dead only when the plate umpire interfered with the catcher’s throw. (Current interpretation) In 1973, the last sentence of this rule was added to cover cases in which a coach interfered (intentionally) with a thrown ball. That same year, provisions were made for cases in which a pitched ball lodged in catcher’s or umpire’s equipment...5.09(g) and when a pitched ball touched a runner trying to score...5.09(h). Pro Interp: Any thrown ball that strikes an umpire shall be considered alive and in play. A pitched ball which is kicked or deflected by the plate umpire is in play. A batted ball which strikes an umpire is governed by Rules 5.09(f), 6.08(d), 6.09(c), and 7.04(b). Coaches have an inherent obligation to avoid fielders in the act of fielding a batted or thrown ball (Rule 7.11). Likewise, they should avoid overthrows to the best of their ability. if an overthrow should touch a coach, the umpire should determine if the coach used his best efforts to avoid the overthrow and/or fielder or whether his actions were palpably designed to interfere. Though Rule 5.08 states a penalty in rather vague terms...”the runner is out”... it becomes the umpire’s responsibility to determine which runner in the case of multiple runners. In the case of interference interpreted as intentional by the umpire, he shall rule the ball dead and call “out” the runner who would have most benefitted by the coach’s actions. (See situations below.) SIT: No outs...no one on base. The batter swings and misses “strike three.” This pitch is missed by the catcher as the batter starts for first. Luckily for the catcher...the ball strikes the umpire...and is easily retrieved. He fires to first to retire the batter-runner. RUL: The umpire is in play when struck by a pitched ball. This was a tough break for the batter-runner, but he is out. SIT: The runner from first is stealing on the pitch. The catcher’s throw to nab the runner strikes the umpire in the back of his head. The runner steals the base easily. Should you return the runner to first because of the umpire’s interference? RUL: The ball is alive and in play. The runner remains at second. SIT: Runners on first and third...one out. The batter chops a high hopper toward shortstop...the shortstop charges in and fields the batted ball. He fires to second to start the double play...but...the throw hits the umpire. All runners are safe as one run scores. What’s the call? RUL: A thrown ball that hits an umpire is alive and in play. The run counts and runners remain at first and second. SIT: Runner on 2nd. Ground ball to the shortstop. His throw to 1st skips by the first baseman and, in umpire’s judgment, accidentally strikes the base coach and deflects down the right field line. The runner from 2nd has rounded 3rd and scores easily. RUL: This ball is alive and in play and all ensuing action counts. Conceivably, the batter-runner may have thought that the ball went farther beyond the first baseman than it actually did and could be thrown out trying to advance. SIT: Runner on 2nd. The batter’s ground ball is fielded to 1st but gets by the first baseman. The coach falls to the ground and covers the ball as the runner from 2nd scores and the BR advances to 2nd. RUL: This is most likely intentional interference by the coach. The ball should be ruled dead, the lead runner declared out, and the BR returned to 1st. Roder (1) blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a fair or catchable batted ball or thrown ball. A coach must try to avoid a fielder trying to field. If he tries to avoid, but contacts a fielder, it is not interference. In most cases, a coach who does not try to avoid contact with a fielder will have interfered. [5.08] [7.11][/FONT][/FONT] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Baseball | 19 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 07:50pm |
Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Softball | 7 | Thu Sep 11, 2008 08:57pm |
Great Reading Material! | ranjo | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 15, 2006 07:59pm |
Suggested FED rule changes | ChuckElias | Basketball | 21 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:45pm |
Suggested reading | buckrog64 | Basketball | 9 | Thu May 26, 2005 02:40pm |