![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Rule 6.02(b) Comment: If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a "set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from “scratch.
Even if he hadn't completely gotten out of the box when the pitcher came set, I would still apply this rule - the batter's actions in part caused the balk, and he should not be rewarded for it. The hand waving especially would convince me to not penalize the pitcher. |
|
|||
|
I had one earlier this year where the batter (while in his normal hitting position) verbally says the word "time" while F1 is in is stretch. Batter remains in his hitting position for probably one second or two, then F1 starts and stops his delivery. I did not grant the time request, but called the balk because in my judgement, that situation did not cause the pitcher to stop his delivery. (it's hard to describe w/o seeing it)...However, I have simply "started over" several times before. Tough for me to penalize the pitcher in these situations.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Force play or tag play | dsbrooks1014 | Baseball | 3 | Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm |
| was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am |
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |