The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 11, 2009, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool For whom the bell tolls....

Gentlemen,

It is often said in forums such as this that (with very rare exceptions) you cannot "unring the bell" after an erroneous foul call by an umpire.

For your consideration and discussion....

15U Travel tournament semi-final - loser goes home, winner advance to championship.

Bottom of 9 (scheduled 7), tie score, 2 outs, R3 and R1.

Batter rips a "hot" grounder down the 1B line. F3 goes to field the ball and is straddling the foul line to the outfield side of 1B when the ball caroms off his chest into foul territory. As the F3 goes to chase after the ball, the PU points in the direction of foul territory and then, almost immediately, points fair and "holds" the point.

R3 crosses home, and the BR reaches 1B about 3 steps ahead of the F3's toss to a covering F1.

What have you got (other than a $hitstorm)? Was the bell "rung" or not?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old SI article on Tommy Bell and his Crew Texas Aggie Football 27 Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:04am
Rung Bell - Can't UnRing whiskers_ump Softball 5 Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1