![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
8.3.2a - obstruction happens during rundown. Play is being made on an advancing runner. I would give the base award. But the following case play is more inline with the OP *8.3.2 SITUATION G: F1 attempts to pick off R1 at first base. As F3 is about to receive the throw, he drops his knee and (a) blocks the entire base prior to possessing the ball or (b) blocks part of the base prior to possessing the ball or (c) blocks the entire base while being in possession of the ball. RULING: Obstruction in (a); legal in (b) and (c). Though the ruling is obstruction, there is no ruling on an awarded base in the case play. I would interpret that in (a) the runner is returning to 1st and is awarded that base as per rule 8-3-2: In this OP, the runner would have returned to 2nd (he's not advancing to 3rd) had there been no obstruction. Granted the wording in this particluar rule seems to contradict itself. But I see the later wording in this same ruling stating "Runner(s) will be awarded appropriate base(s) per umpire judgement." In this OP, in my judgement, he's not going to 3rd. He's returning to 2nd. Due to the obstruction, the defense looses the out and R2 gets 2nd.
__________________
Just remember, it's not always about you. ![]() MSHSAA (Baseball, Basketball) Last edited by mroyal; Mon Jun 01, 2009 at 10:06pm. Reason: proper marking for rule reference |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OBSTRUCTION going into 2nd??? | PFISTO | Baseball | 11 | Sun Dec 31, 2006 09:00pm |
Obstruction or not? | DTQ_Blue | Baseball | 35 | Tue Oct 17, 2006 04:26pm |
Obstruction at 1B? | SAump | Baseball | 0 | Sat Sep 30, 2006 07:20pm |
Obstruction at First | Cubbies87 | Baseball | 9 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm |
Obstruction or nothing? | heyblue | Softball | 6 | Thu Mar 13, 2003 06:04pm |