![]() |
|
|
|||
Good call. The only time this rule comes into play occurs when the defense is actively making a play on the runner. Then he must run directly from wherever he is to a base, and he is out if he deviates more than 3 feet from his basepath.
The line between the bases is irrelevant to the enforcement of this rule.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I agree - good call.
I had a similar sitch last weekend. Rundown b/w 1B & 2B. R1 was headed toward 2B and made a wide turn back toward 1B and dove in safely. F1 (or F3) was behind him with the ball when he turned. There was no attempted tag, other than running behind him for a couple of steps. HC went..let's just say he didn't agree with my call. He claimed, "It was an obvious attempt to avoid a tag" He didn't want to listen to my explanation. He just wanted to tell me how wrong and how ridiculous the call was. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What NFHS rule talks about re-establishing in-bounds? | Schmack42 | Basketball | 22 | Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:03pm |
Establishing Baseline | tibear | Baseball | 44 | Sun Jun 03, 2007 07:22am |
Re-establishing? | bigzilla | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 02:27pm |
Establishing Team Control | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 12 | Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:54pm |
Obtaining/Establishing a legal guarding position. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 26 | Thu Feb 07, 2002 10:24am |